Corruption!!

Brizzad

Chieftain
I am rather new to the game. I have been using Germany and i am about to Modern times. I am having a huge problem with corruption. My income is about 2100 gold and about 1200 is being pissed away on corruption. I have tried to build courthouses. I have switched back to a Republic rather than a democracy. I have many cities and control most of the map but I am having some huge funding issues. My science is set at 40% and happiness at 30%.

Any suggestions would ne great. I love this is site and Civ 3 is the ****.

Best way to limit corruption is to limit the number of cities in your empire. Other ways are to adjust the slider in the editor before starting a game. Democracy has very slightly lower corruption than Republic, and that is slightly better than Monarchy. Communism is an uncompetitive government for a well-built empire with any kind of industrial core.

A well centered palace and Forbidden Palace help. Courthouses, Police Stations, and We-Love-the-King day all help. However, after a certain number of cities (twice the optimal number of cities for a given map size and difficulty level) additional cities can not be helped much. For these fringe cities, the best use is often as food farms with several tax men or researchers.
+ Bill

Yeah, corruption's tough, isn't it? You said you switched back to republic from democracy, was that due to war weariness? Because corruption is actually lowest in democracy.