Culture Groups Share UA, UB, UU, UI

grmagne

Warlord
Hi, I want to try making my first Civ V mod by grouping the 43 civs into 11 different culture groups where civilizations have access to other uniques (but at a higher cost) within their own culture group. I have it all planned out conceptually but haven’t tried creating a mod yet. The major question I have, before investing many, many hours into this is whether or not it is possible to implement all these ideas with a mod, or are some of these ideas impossible? I have no experience with Civ V modding, but I should have enough XML programming experience to figure out how it works if these ideas are theoretically possible to implement.

Unique Units

As an example, I’d create a culture group called “Classical Europe & Orthodox” that includes Greece, Rome, Byzantium, Russia. Greece can produce Hoplites at the normal cost, but the other 3 civs produce them at +25% production cost. Units that require resources can be produced at the normal production cost but 2x resources. Thus:

1. Greece can produce Hoplites for 56 production and Legions with 2 Iron per unit.
  2. Rome can produce Hoplite for 70 production and Legions with 1 Iron.
  3. Byzantium & Russia produce Hoplites for 70 and Legions for 2 Iron.
  4. Greece, Byzantium, Russia can still produce a regular Swordsman for 1 Iron, but Rome doesn’t need that option. Similarly, everyone but Greece has the option of building a Spearman for 56, etc.
  5. All 4 civs can upgrade a Hoplite into a Legion. This particular culture group would also have the option to upgrade Companion Cavalry into Cossacks, but the other uniques are unaffected e.g. Dromon just upgrades into a Galleass.

Is it possible to implement this? For a Legion, for example, I envision this as 4 simple steps:

1. Increase the base cost of a Legion to 2 Iron.
  2. Go into “Glory of Rome” and reduce the cost to 1 Iron.
  3. Allow Greece, Byzantium, Russia to build Legions.