From Liberty to Tradition and i cant switch back

Hakuoh

Warlord
When i started playing Civ in Vanilla i always went with Liberty expanding fast and grab everything good as possible but the hapiness was a big issue with it and your Borders will expand slow as a snail. As i went up in difficulti i had more and more problems.
In the middle of G&Ks i switched to Tradition and wasnt impressed by the slow start etc.
But i keept playing with it and was surprised how good it is and how easy it is to keep your happiness. Now in BNW i have my tipical tradition and build order with almost every Civ because its super easy and effectiv.
Libertys Happiness from roadconections is nice but the 5% is totally trash.. So you need 20 population to trigger 100% that someone isnt unhappy..

Welcome in da club! :)

Yes, liberty is really useful only for few civs. Tradition has everything, lots of happiness, grow, border grow, free buildings, powerful cities, bonuses to wanders .. everything.

Liberty gives mach less free hammers, have very little happiness ( city connected you have 6 cities you got 6 happiness. size 12 capital does same and + additional some.

In addition, workers steals gives additional free production to tradition why mach less useful to liberty.

I love small Trade Empires. So, usually pick Tradition but Liberty -with Honor- is good for offensive empires.

Yeah Tradition is just all around better for getting some really crucial early boosts (getting free Aqueducts before Engineering is just sick), and I find it's better later on once your capital is huge and the happiness bonus from Monarchy is about the same as the happiness bonus from Meritocracy. The obvious three trade-offs are:
1) Free great person early on (very versatile, especially useful for religion games)
2) Social policy accumulation is much slower (but can be offset slightly with religion or Military Caste)
3) Early second (or third) city