Give me 5 reasons you are playing Civ5 and not Civ4.

Lazarus_Cato

Chieftain
I'm new to the series, but from all I've read, Civ4 is considered the best.
Give me your 5 reasons that you choose to play Civ5 over Civ4.

1) I started playing Civ V just a few months ago, so it is still relatively new to me.
2) I'm playing online against a friend who doesn't know Civ IV.

I'm out of reasons.

1) Graphics.
2) Soundtrack.
3) More nations (Venice, Morocco, Poland...).
4) Hex system is better for battles.
5) I don't have Civ IV.

And some other reasons...

1) Yes, this mod brings the ultimate civ experience. I seriously doubt that there will ever be a better civ game in the near future than Civ5 with the Vox Populi mod.

2) The other reason is the one unit per tile combat system which makes war more tactical and fun in contrary to the utterly boring endless stacks of units in one tile in Civ4. Probably the main reason why I never really got into Civ4. The previous civs had at least ranged units (Civ3) or rules that made the whole stack die if the unit on the top lost the battle (Civ1 and Civ2), which was kind of gamey, but at least forced some tactical decision making and need to spread your armies a bit.

However, truth be told, the one unit per tile exposes the flaws in combat AI after you play a little (surprisingly, they kept the same silly AI in Civ6). Luckily we have the glorious Community Patch (part of the linked mod Vox Populi) which teaches the AI to play almost like human.

3) Another reason is subjective, I hated the looks of Civ4. The smug look can be improved by mods, but still once you started to improve the terrain around your cities it looked kind of ugly and very difficult to read, especially when things were moving at least for me, or maybe I am just getting old :)