God Like Horses?

Zaimejs

Emperor
I just started playing Civ VI again after a long hiatus... and suddenly, horsemen can destroy everything. I thought it was some fluke... but they are taking over cities and just wiping out everything. When did horsemen become OP???? Back in the day, my horses died if you kind of looked at them the wrong way. Now they can cut through spearmen, swordsmen and crossbowmen like they are nothing... and they can attack cities. A single bowman and horse took one of my cities in one turn. Full health to zero. What the hell????

Moderator Action: Changed the thread title. leif

Last edited by a moderator:
Coursers are 47 and knights are 48 right? Honestly I don't see a problem. It balances iron and horse strategics. Usually you start with one or the other and you just focus your builds on exploiting the resource you have.

Coursers are 47
Hungary's courser UU, the Black Army has 47 strength. Which is nice, because in the first look it had 50!

Anyways, OP, unlike civ5, horseman (mounted units in general) don't have two key penalties that differentiated them from infantry units: there's no penalty against cities, and they still fully benefit from terrain defense bonus /fortify. Funnily enough, the city penalty wasn't in release civ5; it was added because it turned out a horse rush was virtually unstoppable because horses are strong and fast. They appear to have forgotten this.
However, they still have the higher base strength and movement they traditionally get. So now that the mounted unit lines have lost the worst gaps (coursers and cuirassiers) they are basically just better versions of melee units.