Got my first Deity Victory today, heres my thoughts

nightraid3r

Chieftain
Hey guys,

I started playing civilization 5 BNW about 1-2 months ago. I hadn't had a lot of civ background other than random dabbling, but had played other kinds of strategy games like RTW2, EU4, etc.

I never thought that I would be able to beat Deity difficulty after struggling on Prince/King for the first week or so.

This post is for all of you who are in a similar spot to me. Here are some lessons from my journey in Civ 5:

1. In Immortal and Deity don't worry about score. You will be losing in score. Just block it out.
2. Your cities aren't going to be ideal. Just get 4 down as fast as possible, then get National College. If you can get another one up, great, if not, just play standard 4 city tall, etc. If you don't go fast, you will get bad land because AI gobbles it up quickly.
3. Be wary of common runaways like Hiawatha and Alexander. Pay other AI's on your continent/map to fight them and keep them busy. They get nasty later.
4. Observatories are really strong.
5. Don't ignore gold production, try to have at least one coastal city for sea trade routes to generate gold.
6. Don't forget about pumping food/production into your cities. This can be extremely helpful.
7. Don't go for any ancient/classical wonders. Really don't hammer out any wonders on Deity, if you don't have a great engineer to get it in 1-2 turns, then don't bother. It's more efficient to not get any of the wonder anyways, but after you get NC, you can pick up late reni/early industrial era wonders with great engineers.
8. Think many turns ahead. Don't randomly pick policies, or randomly tech techs. Always play with end goal in mind.