Having a hard time on Deity

CanaDutch

Chieftain
Out of the 2 games I played on Immortal, I've won, so I got curious about playing on Deity. I saw some of the videos from MadDjinn where he uses ICS with Mayans and barely won a Domination victory. Since he never reloaded after a bad decision I figured I'd try Deity myself and since it's my first time I'll reload when I screw up.

I picked the Mayans as well, small map, Fractal. I met the Incas north of me who were connected to my continent with 1 tile. I also met the Koreans south-east of me and a little later the Celts, Mongolia and the Aztecs who were oddly enough connected to the Inca's continent by 1 tile as well.

I had enough land to settle 6 cities eventually, though I didn't get a lot of gold and luxury resources. I went with God of the sea, since I had a lot of fishing resources and figured that extra production would be a great edge to have.

It didn't take long before the Incas declared war on me, though. Fortunately I was able to hold off whatever the Incas was throwing at me with CBs. Meanwhile the Koreans where coveting my lands, but I was able to bribe them into war with the Celts.

Due to few happiness resources I didn't get libraries out to early, but the pyramids allowed me to keep up with the other civs. I was able to get Pagodas and Ceremonial Burial, and even the Great Mosque of Djenne and the Hagia Sophia for a decent religion game. The Long Count bonus was very useful as I could pick a GP that could really help in that moment. A bit after getting an Academy from the Liberty finisher and the MLC, I got the NC up at 920 AD, probably a bit too late. Using my spy, however, I was able to somewhat keep up with the other civs during the middle ages.