Votes: 39 54.2%
  • Both

Votes: 14 19.4%
  • I'm a lover, not a fighter

Votes: 14 19.4%

• Total voters

BlanketofFlame

Chieftain
I'm getting ready to fight a two fronted war on the AI in early Modern Age, and need some advice. I need to know if it is better to pillage everything in your path and raze cities, or if it is best to just capture the cities intact.

If you raze, your diplomatic rating will get flushed down the toilet. I'm not saying don't raze, just make sure you never plan on having friends again.

I'm a builder..I conquer only if it's necessary

Even assuming you're going to raze the cities, why pillage everything? You can certainly use the roads/rr's and you may want to build you own cities in the wake of your devastation. Why rebuild all the tile improvements?

I capture everything. I almost never raze or pillage.

why pillage everything?

Early in a big war (while the enemy still has lots of troops) I pillage rail&road ahead of the main force, to slow down the enemy forces so more of them are left in the open and vulnerable.

That's one of my main uses for cavalry after Tanks are in play; three movement means they can pillage and jump back to safety. Little squads of a few cavalry and a bit of infantry can cripple the enemy logistics.

I'd leave the mines and irrigation if that were possible, but it isn't. I don't know why they chose to have pillaging take out railroads in one step, but mines&roads together in one step. I'd rather it were railroads, roads, agriculture/mining.

I usually only raze for narrative effect. If you're a religious civ, for instance, and you capture the city with TOE in it, out come the flamethrowers.

Like Puglover I'm a capturer...

I love to see my empire build, It's a good feeling