How to win this war?

tokyochojin

Chieftain
Hello guys,

I am a bit of a newbie to Civilization V and am currently stuck in a war against Siam. I was going for a cultural victory but was attacked by neighbour the Vikings and conquerd them in retaliation. Since then, my two wonder rivals Egypt & Siam decided to declare war on me.

How do you think I should proceed with this war and do I have a chance or should i pull out to build more units. Also, any other tips on how to improve my game would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Kamehameha.Civ5Save
    741.5 KB · Views: 81
Just to note ... you never want to fully conquor a rival civ. It just seems to tick everyone else off at you. A few times, I've bombed a city down to nothing, and let a city-state unit take the city.

If you're going for a cultural victory, you don't want to be overly aggressive anyway. You DON'T want to have multiple cities, especially puppet/annexed cities. You will usually want to have no more than 3 cities. Any more and you're going to be taking a happiness/culture hit. If people get into a war with you, you will just want to fight a defensive battle, and just keep them off of you until you wipe out their forces and they are looking for a peace treaty.

As for the battles themselves. I always try to get creative with the archers/crossbowmen.I place them behind my city with maybe a front-line unit or two in front ... preferably on a hill or forest. With three archers behind and a city-bombardment, you should be able to wipe out at LEAST one unit per turn. Don't attack with your front line units though. Put them on Fortify, and hold your ground. Let the archers do all the work, while your front-line unit absorb all the damage with the terrain/fortify modifier advantages. You can also try and rotate out damaged units to let them repair. After awhile, you should be getting quite a few promotions, and have a pretty formidable defense force.