Imperialism Mod

I think it looks ok, but I'm not an xml expert. However your post just gave me an idea. People post in the bts development forum about strange crashes and they turn out to be incorrect arts setup. We could add an assert, which checks if the art file is present on game startup. That will provide a human readable assert error rather than a CTD at runtime with no useful error.

The only problem is that we have the files in pak files right now. For this to work, the files should be unpacked. I think they should be unpacked in git anyway for several reasons. Let's see if we can agree on unpacking the files.

Yeah, when VIE gets further along it will have a lot of it's own graphics that won't be packed (mostly because I am lazy and have never packed graphics!) :D (I think I unpacked all the art files when I did them for WHM, and then moved all that content over to my new VIE work folder.

I think packed art is only good for a release version, but I do not know the relative sizes of the packed and unpacked for M:C

I added this Tutorial because knuckle was struggling, I think he had a Bts tutorial and it caused some kind of issue, hopefully this one will work better!

That randon art crash is usually to do with the ',' in an art entry at the beginning of it's path when it doesn't use an atlas reference, a lot of people put in a 'normal' path, and don't know about the comma issue.

This tutorial will also become more complicated if we decide to turn 'artilleries' into professions, so that they require a citizen to be created, rather than hammers.

I also started wondering about the idea of 'refit' professions for ships, though I do not know if something in the code prevents a 'built' unit from having a profession??

I think packed art is only good for a release version, but I do not know the relative sizes of the packed and unpacked for M:C
1:1