Is the AI better at war now?

Hormagaunt

Warlord
Specifically, war at sea. My answer is No.

A while back I posted a thread "I love this game!". I posted it because I, as a casual player of Civ4, beat a Deity Duel game of Civ5 on my 4th try.

A couple of nights ago, I ran another one. Duel, Islands, Elizabeth. I pulled Ghandi again as my opponent. After a while in, he was handily outperforming me so I quit. Ran another one. Got Monty as the opponent.

I went after him with 2 triremes, 2 longbowmen, and 4 warriors. Hammered his city from outside his range (a couple of islands had me in range of his capital). Killed everything that sailed out from under the city's protection. Landed troops, lost 'em, killed the Jaguars that were exposed by their sacrifice. Landed more troops, took his capital.

So, as a casual player of 4, I've now chalked up my second Deity win in Civ5. Sure, it was a cheap win, optimal civ on optimal board, but I'm not an expert player; I shouldn't be able to do it. At Deity level the computer should always hand me my head. It doesn't.

Sooner or later I should try on a Pangea map.

I don't think so either. I will usually go through a war losing at most three units.

Granted, the game is pretty easy compared to IV but if you dont like it you are free to massively increase the difficulty by adding other civilisations to the game.

Yep Unit AI is still a big joke, AI still move units all over the show with no next to no tactics even on emperor which i play. were a few changes for the good, but they did next to nothing. But they added in some terrible ones like 'luck' based combat. :wallbash: which i call 'bad luck' based combat. :rolleyes:

Game is still easy, recently i played 3 One city challenge, small, Pangaea, standard, emperor & winning all 3 easily. 2 culture victories & 1 diplomatic. Stuff ICS... All you need is one city to beat this game. :lol: