Looking for a better game experience

Hi guys

Last month I started playing CIV5. I am hooked. 48 hour marathons are no exception. Im a huge fan of MGSV and Dishonored games. I only play games in which I can clear objectives, play through the way I want. So CIV is nice. First turn based strategy game I played. In the late 90’s I tried AOE, but didnt like it. Anyway, there are some mechanics and developer decisions I am bothered with a bit. I am looking for ways (mods, workarounds), to handle these. These problems are:

- on flat maps (no wrapped, cilinder maps), I get these odd ugly grey map border, east and west. This is just a strange artistic choice from the team at Firaxis. I am looking for a mod that changes these into something more appealing.

- I played 1000+ hours on MGSV, I love good gameplay and challenging AI behavior. In CIV5, the AI is just plain bad. Especially with their boats. The developers tackled this problem by giving the AI advantages (I suppose); more gold, less penalties, less waiting times, more units, etc…
Are there any non-dll mods (im on mac) which changes its intelligence slightly, or drastically?

Next to the combat stupidity, the AI's dilpomatic behaviour is beyond ridiculous as well, stuff like this: If I am at war with a computer leader, for no reason (even if we arent physically at war), they offer me free cities and a peace agreement. Or 1 turn after the war ended, they friendly ask me to do some trading. Its ridiculous…

- less important but could change my games up a bit, I am looking for nice modded leaders/civs, with voice (audio) when they say something. And with nice music like the Mali civ.

As for how I play:

I play on these maps:
- pangea, continents, earth, tectonic movement, perfect world.

I usually play with these victories, or (n)one of them:
- domination
- cultural
- diplomacy

My preferred civ's:
Japan, Russia, Austria, America