Looking to implement code from the Into the Renaissance scenario into my mod

Frossa

Prince
First off I want to say that I am a complete newbie to Lua and that my understanding of what I'm truly dealing with is very limited.
The Into the Renaissance scenario has a feature where you inherit the Founder Beliefs of a Religion if you capture its Holy City. I want to replicate this feature for my own modded scenario, but only for a Japanese context, so the owner of Kyoto inherits the Founder Beliefs of Shinto if they count as a Japanese daimyo. (I already have another script that founds and spreads Religions as soon as the game starts.)
The code to achieve this in the ItR scenario is found in TurnsRemaining.lua (DLC\Expansion\Scenarios\MedievalScenario\TurnsRemaining.lua), and I've copied and modified it in a way that I think it would in theory do what I want it to do. But there obviously things missing:
Spoiler :
Code:
GameEvents.CityCaptureComplete.Add(function(iOldOwner, bIsCapital, iX, iY, iNewOwner, iPop, bConquest)

local plot = Map.GetPlot(iX, iY);
    local cCity = plot:GetPlotCity();
    local iNewOwner = cCity:GetOwner();
    local civType = Players[iNewOwner]:GetCivilizationType();

local pShintoHolyCity = Game.GetHolyCityForReligion(GameInfoTypes["RELIGION_SHINTO"], -1);

local popupInfo = {
        Data1 = 500,
        Type = ButtonPopupTypes.BUTTONPOPUP_TEXT,
    }

if (cCity == pShintoHolyCity) then
        if (civType == GameInfo.Civilizations["CIVILIZATION_JAPAN"].ID or
            civType == GameInfo.Civilizations["CIVILIZATION_KOREA"].ID then
            Game.SetFounder(GameInfoTypes["RELIGION_SHINTO"], iNewOwner);
        else
            Game.SetFounder(GameInfoTypes["RELIGION_SHINTO"], GetPersistentProperty("KyotoPlayer"));
        end           

end

end