Map Size

Rynian

Chieftain
I am new to the mod, and I like it a bit so far, I LOVE the variety of civs and reworked religion, but I have come across something odd. Whenever I try to start a new game, all the civs are placed SUPER far apart, and it doesn't even feel like we will meet until maybe the medieval era, classic if we are lucky. Is this intentional? How are our gameplay strategies intended to compensate? It seems like it rewards turtling at first glance and would lead to a boring experience.

I could also see fighting a bunch of barbarians and growing your empire be more realistic, though the scale is so different from vanilla Im not sure if this is just a bug or Im setting the game up wrong

(Large pangea or inland sea, normal speed, prince, rest is default... culturally linked)

EDIT: Also FAQ says real earth should be missing, but i have it in my game as an option.

Am on Mac

Last edited:
Whenever I try to start a new game, all the civs are placed SUPER far apart, and it doesn't even feel like we will meet until maybe the medieval era, classic if we are lucky. Is this intentional? How are our gameplay strategies intended to compensate? It seems like it rewards turtling at first glance and would lead to a boring experience.

It's a side effect of the adjustments I've made to map sizes. The default number of civs at each size is tuned primarily for mapscripts that have the regular amount of ocean. In land-heavy maps like Inland Sea, civs will be placed far apart because there are so many decent starting locations available. It's probably best to increase the number of starting civs on such maps via the custom game options.

Also FAQ says real earth should be missing, but i have it in my game as an option.

It says "All but the Earth map were removed in 1.24". All the maps of particular regions were removed (until I can get them updated), but the Earth map itself was updated and retained.

I appreciate your response.