Mod Graphical Updates blog

OrsonM

Our man
Introduction

Spoiler :
(using the same blog format as Markus here...)

Hello, my name is Rodrigo Petunio, I'm an illustrator, most would probably know me as OrsonM or as that guy from the thread about copyright issues on Civ V. I'm in charge of illustrating original artwork for Markus's mod. I offered to help modders a few months ago, and here we are.

Originally I wasn't too happy about the current state of artwork on mods, a lot of them use images that do not belong to them, something that I do not agree with myself. I work with all original materials made by me, I feel it's more professional, there's more control to the images in that way and finally I won't get Markus in any sort of legal bind.

I do however use previous artwork as an inspiration or as a reference, but of course never downright copying it and noting when done so.

Earlier work

Spoiler :
Now early enough I got an email from Markus about working on the artwork for the characters in the game, I never got his idea right very well, but he really wanted to have new character screens that would communicate better all the diplomatic factors of the game (I think, not sure). I cooked up quickly a small concept art about Montezuma and just basing myself on the old moods from Civ IV and Civ III, which I think work a bit better in showing moods than the current 3d animations (which are awesome, but can be intrusive at times and a bit hard to read at times)

(sketching at work!)

And so, I showed this to Markus, he saw it, replied to me something around the lines that he had no idea what was that, that it was impossible to make that within the game at this moment. My detective senses told me I may had misunderstood his original instructions (not sure, will check again).

Perhaps one day my raggedy sketch will become an actual thing within the game...

Policies artwork
Spoiler :