Need help with production

steeemer

Chieftain
I am fairly new to the Civilization experience. I am on xbox 360.

I think when I first start a game I should be put all my focus onto production. Produce warriors and eventually a settler so I can explore the immediate area, get free gold, meet the other civs, and find a spot for my second city. Is this generally the correct approach in the early going?

Secondly, I have been using the "canned" production settings. I just pick food, or science, or balanced, etc. Is there a better way to go about this? I feel like I should be able to do this in a more specific fashion.

Any help would be appreciated.

If you select "custom" you can specify precisely which tiles you'll work. Every serious player I know switches to 2 Forest tiles immediately to crank out the few few warriors as fast as possible. The rewards for killing Barbarian villages far outweigh the cost of delaying research and growth, so it's just a matter of judging how many warriors is optimal for clearing as many villages as possible before the AI can get to them.

- Gus

Typically I start by using "custom" mode and put my city to 4 production and crank out 3 warriors to explore and eventually create an army of warriors. After I have produced my 3rd warrior I typically put my city on food production as much as possible until it has grown at least one pop. After that I start researching as much as possible without losing production and growth. The growth is important to get more tiles to work fast, AND if needed to build settlers and not get down to 1 pop.

Good luck.

I do the same mainly as Hertsh in the beginning, if playing on Single Player. I pop out a warrior army, run around and find barb villages. After that I put both tiles on food, then only on food and research.