Planning a BtS Mod. Who wants to lend a hand?

This thread is for brainstorming and sharing research.

I am unhappy with the selection of both the Byzantines and the Holy Roman Empire, as, in my personal opinion, neither is a civilization at all. I shall be removing them, and replacing them with more worthy candidates. However, I'm a modding noob, and I realize that there are certain civs people would've liked to see, so I want to make my work available as a mod comp, preferably with a version for having no Byzies or.....(see what I mean?) and a version with them, as some people will want as many choices as possible.

Civilizations I am considering...
-At least one additional South East Asian civilization
-One additional Mesopotamian civ(Hittites, perhaps)
-At least one group to represent the Polynesians
-Poland

Suggestions other than Austria are welcome, and suggestions for leaders, UUs, and UBs are welcome as well. I also plan on modding leader traits, and perhaps including additional leaders for pre-existing civs. Provide sources if possible, preferably not Wikipedia. Restrictions are:
-I will NOT include multiple UUs or UBs
-I will NOT alter the core gameplay
- I will NOT exceed 2 leaders per civ except in special circumstances. Additional leaders above the 2nd should be extremely influential. Yes, I am considering adding Hitler.

How this list?
-Europe(+1)
Poland
HRE---->Franks(funny how a little name change makes it better and more accurate)

-North America(+2)
Sioux/Lakota(already done other than the UB!)
Iroquios(did I spell that right?)
Shawnee(Tecumseh fascinates me. Correct me if I'm wrong.)

-Africa
Any suggestions? Please back them up with something to impress me with.

Middle East
-Israel(Solomon or David...and some one later. A Founding Father of modern Israel, perhaps. Remember, make a convincing case, and the candidate has to be dead and buried.)

Asia
-Vietnam
Any suggestions?

Polynesians
Anyone know much about them?