[PYTHON] Python Newbie Question

OzzyKP

Emperor
I'm making my first attempt to do something in Python and... I'm lost.

I'd like to have a worker created, owned by a particular AI civ when a corporation spreads to a city. My hope is to have corporations spread & operate independently, and have them build rail lines on their own.

I have never done anything in Python before (or much coding period), so I'd love some advice & help. This is the best I've come up with:

Code:
    def onCorporationSpread(self, argsList):
        'Corporation Has Spread to a City'
        iCorporation, iOwner, pSpreadCity = argsList
        iRailCorp = gc.getInfoTypeForString('CORPORATION_1')
        player = PyPlayer(iOwner)

if iCorporation == iRailCorp
            CyInterface().addImmediateMessage("Railroad Corp has expanded into your city and will get to work building the rails", "")
            newUnit = playerY.initUnit(gc.getInfoTypeForString('UNIT_WORKER'), UnitAITypes.NO_UNITAI)

At this point I was just hoping to spawn a unit to show that I could make Python do anything at all, I hadn't even begun to worry about assigning it to a certain player. I copy and pasted pieces from other mods, and I've tried it a few different ways, but nothing ever happens. Clearly I'm missing some basic understanding of python.

On the plus side, nothing crashes! It just doesn't do anything.

Are you sure that the callback is even triggering ? Which mod (or perhaps "stock" BTS) are you using ?
Heh, im such a newbie I don’t know what your first sentence even means. But no, I’m not sure if anything.

I added this to my Fractured States mod which I don’t think has any other python changes, just XML so far.

newUnit = playerY.initUnit

I know more about the geography of the planetary mantle than I do python, but isn't "playerY" wrong; it's declared as just "player" above

newUnit = playerY.initUnit