Questions for modders

Ingvar

Chieftain
I am trying to figure out bunches of things on how Civ4/BTS/FFH2 works. I am not that good at reading code - I can understand some, but not all the time.

I've read some of the modding FAQs and guides, but I don't think it's enough to get some of the questions answered. Maybe those questions are so self-explanatory that everyone knows, or maybe answers are buried deep in old threads. In any case I figured I'd try.

I thought I'd start this thread and post questions here for any passer by to answer - hopefully it would help others with their questions. Specifically with mod-modding FFH2/FF.

So my first question is:

When does a civ die? On its last city razed? Is it possible to keep a civ alive with just a unit?

Second:
What is a specific function, if there is any, to upgrade a unit to another unit through events?

Thanks!

There is a Game Option (Require Complete Kills) that keeps a civ in the game so long as it has a single unit. Otherwise, they are supposed to be eliminated (and have all their units removed) when they lose their last city. It has been that way since Vanilla Civ IV was first released, but is a little different in FfH. When the cities are destroyed and thee units auto-killed, it results in units that cairred equipment dropping it, still under that civs control. That keeps the civ in the game until someone captures the equipment. If it weren't handled that way then equipmewnt could be permanently destroyed.

I assume this work probably work like several spells do, in python. For example,
Code:
		pPlayer = gc.getPlayer(pCaster.getOwner())
		newUnit = pPlayer.initUnit(gc.getInfoTypeForString('UNIT_WOLF_RIDER'), pCaster.getX(), pCaster.getY(), UnitAITypes.NO_UNITAI, DirectionTypes.DIRECTION_SOUTH)
		newUnit.convert(pCaster)