Spaceship Victories

Johnpecan

Warlord
Hi fellow Civ4ers,
I'm relatively new Civ4 (was a huge Civ2 fanatic) and I'm just getting into Civ4. Right now I play in the Noble/Prince skill level.

One thing that bothers me right now is spaceship victories. I remember in Civ2 I always turned them off. It just bothers me that a civilization can abstain from war through making strong diplomatic decisions and teching up and building strong defensive units.

I was playing a Prince game (I think that's the skill level, 1 above Noble) where I played an early game military strategy to see how that went. It went pretty well, I wiped out 2 civs and severely crippled a 3rd civ.

So I have a lot of land (I'm Kublai Kahn), but now the remaining 3 civs that abstained from war are far ahead me in tech, Russians, Mehmed (forget the country) and Vikings. Mehmed is building spaceship parts and defends his base with mechanized infantry. I have infantry and JUST got artillery (aka way behind in tech). For some reason, Mehmed is allied and pleased with ALL 4 remaining civs. And he has no problem whatsoever that the Russians and Vikings are assaulting my territory (although he did offer me Flight which was nice of him).

So now I'm in a position where Mehmed is building a spaceship, I'm trying to defend myself through drafting and massing infantry against the Russians/Vikings who are attacking me constantly (forgot to mention that Mehmed and me share a continent, Russians/Vikings share another). I can't pay Mehmed to help me in war because he's friends with everyone (maybe has something to do with him being the chair of the UN?)

So I'm thinking in retrospec, I should have declared war on Mehmed while he was teching up to limit his power? But if I attacked him instead of wiping out the Americans/Germans couldn't the Americans/Germans do what Mehmed is doing now? Maybe I should have based who I attacked first off of leader traits?