The Best Random Event You've gotten

Johnpecan

Warlord
A little preface, I'm no expert Civ player but I'm enjoying it immensely and playing at the Monarch level. With my lack of experience, I'm sure there are some random events that I haven't received before.

But the other day, I was playing a continents game and leading a massive infantry/rifleman/cannon assault across my continent. I got a random event which was pretty amazing. I'm not at my home computer so I forget the exact text, but the bottom line was that ALL my gunpowder units received the MARCH promotion (can heal while moving). This was the nail in the coffin for the enemies on my continent (whom I had a tech lead on). I also noticed that newly created gunpowder units (other than mech infantry that start with it) were created with march too.

I was thinking wow, that was the best random event that has ever happened to me. The ability to march my infantry withouts stopping was a beautiful site. I know a they are all situational, but what are some of the best random events you've gotten?

I had that event before, though not as many riflemen as you had.

Most of the random events I've had so far have been harmful, ha ha (worst one being floods that destroyed a courthouse 3 turns after I whipped it). Probably the best I've seen was the one that gave my foodstores away in exchange for diplomancy boost.

That march one sounds excellent. There's also one giving all axes cover which is pretty amazing if you get it right before an axe rush. Also, if you're running free market there's a -25% inflation one which is pretty spectacular too.

I've seen that march one, but usually pick the happiness bonus instead.
I seem to always get it while transitioning into police state, and I've gotten it twice, so I can't complain :)

I know I had a better event in the past, but it escapes me at the moment. But if I didn't have that one event, this one would take the cake.