The Rise

Hyena Dandy

Chieftain
Well, I'm... Uh, actually, not very good at this game, you know... I can only beat it on Settler... Which is embarassing, but... This is more to keep up my writing, and play around with some styles. A friend recommended it to me since I haven't done much writing lately.

I'm using the Ethnic Mix More mod, playing as the Maya (Pacal II) on Chieftan.

I'm not good at keeping track of turn numbers, but I'll put the year for you. :)

And hey, if you got tips to make me a better Civ-er (is that a word?) or writer, let me know.

The year is 4000 BC

The small, nomadic tribes have been living practically in exile... But hard times have gotten harder for them... They once were able to at least camp... But all their materials, save what they have on their backs, are gone... Lost when the earth opened up and swallowed them whole. They've only gone a few miles... Its too cold to go much further through the icy forest.

They shiver in the frozen forests... Its a cold day, and two brothers, the sons of the chieftain who died when the earth opened, stand by a river, giving thanks to it. Mutal, the elder. "My brother..." He says, looking across the nearly frozen river, "My wife gave birth today..."

Pacal turns to him, smiling "That's wonderful!"

Mutal shakes his head, "No, brother... Its far from wonderful..." He looks down, "Father didn't teach you the ways of the prophets... But he taught me. I've seen the signs, brother..." he says. "As soon as my legacy has been secured... I'm going to die."

Pacal shakes his head, disbelieving, "You've misinterpreted it... Come on, back to camp..."

Mutal stares across the river a little more... Before standing to follow his brother. Before they get their... It begins to rain... Icy rain, but rain nonetheless... The two brothers take shelter under a tree... Just a few hundred yards outside of camp...