Trenches

Undertaker798

I studied on killin' you!
Maybe you could order your workers to construct trenches, then that provides a bonus to certain units, such as archers or musketmen.
I think this would be pretty cool, even though there would be an AI stupidity of them building a trench on every square!!

How would that differ from a from a fortress or barricade?

hmm, i like the idea of trenches especially when you first research riflemen :crazyeye:

:goodjob: nice idea (although a bit ripped off from el justo :lol: )

I had a similar idea while playing Civ3 once. Annoyed that I couldn't afford to mount a static defence to protect my borders (I was trying to rebuild my border cities after a huge pillaging sesh by the AI), I had to be far more aggressive than I could afford to be just to keep my workers safe.

My mind went into "what-if" mode and I thought how cool it would be to add the Entrenchment ability to Riflemen and later infantry units.

The way I saw this working was that Workers could be set to build Entrenchments in any square. These could then be occupied by Riflemen or Infantry, who when Fortified would defend not only their square, but also adjacent squares with Entrenchments in them. So you could seal off a long border using only a quarter of the units it would otherwise require.

Entrenchments would remove any terrain improvements, and they would be very worker-intensive to build. So you wouldn't want to whack them around your core cities, nor would you put them up unless the cost of defending the terrain was too great.

RichardMNixon said:
How would that differ from a from a fortress or barricade?

Not really as you could see a fort, not if your enemy just seemed to pop up out of nowhere. Thats why i think trenches are :goodjob:

Undertaker798 said:
Maybe you could order your workers to construct trenches, then that provides a bonus to certain units, such as archers or musketmen.