TSG 223 Opening Actions Thread

vadalaz

Emperor
GOTM Staff
This thread is used to discuss the game's opening decisions and strategies through the first 100 or so turns. Here you can post questions related to the game and share your achievements/anger/frustration/victories while you play.

- What did you think about before starting the game, what was your approach to this game?
- Where did you settle and what did you build first?
- How did the map type and raging barbarians affect your early decisions?
- Did you go for early conquest, or did you focus on infrastructure first?
- What Social Policies did you choose?
- What Wonders did you try to get and did you get them?
- Did you get a religion? What religious beliefs did you pick?

Just finished my playthough! This is my first GotM, so I'm kind of new to these threads. Any feedback welcome!

What did you think about before starting the game, what was your approach to this game? - How did the terrain and map settings affect your early decisions? - What were your initial priorities?

Looking at the starting terrain, I immediately liked tears of the gods. It's one of these pantheons that is very likely to get you a religion if you get 3 bonuses, so i definitely wanted a fast shrine. Religions are quite useful for domination victories especially IMO. The pearls encouraged fast researching of sailing, which is normally kind of annoying. However, raging barbarians + fractal is a very nice combination for ottomans, and getting out early triremes will allow you to snowball quickly with the prize ships. So early game was rushing pantheon, getting sailing + some early triremes and settling at least 2 extra cities for me.

Where did you settle and what did you build first?

I settled the gems and started with monument. Scouts are usually useless on fractal maps IMO. After monument I put some turns in a warrior and switched to shrine immediately after researching pottery.

What tech path did you follow and why?