Open Spots in NES.

Yeah, Brave New world is fairly simple.

Are there any noob-friendly NESes which would have spots open for a complete beginner? (preferably just beginning or not too far into the game)

If you like sci-fi settings, you may also like Pre-ChaNES. I'm aiming to create a fairly deep game world in it, but you should be able to join without too much reading, as it's based on the real world somewhat. I'll be posting the next update in a couple of days - if it's to your liking, you're more than welcome to join as governor of a solar system or a newly colonizing nation on Earth. That invitation goes for anyone else who wants to join, of course.

There is a lot of places in FANES to take. There are the Persian statelets, SudAmerican nations, or you can lead a group of adventurers to colonize Europe!

Are there any noob-friendly NESes which would have spots open for a complete beginner? (preferably just beginning or not too far into the game)
If you don't mind complicated rules, i can find a place for you in BirdNES. Tradur in the Manipur Coast is a possibility or maybe as a "lost boy". In that case you would play in an unknown location (to you and the other players) until your area was discovered. That gives you some turns without the pressure or fear of being conquered right away. BirdNES has three separate cradles in three different threads. We are on update 6 about 300 years into the game.

So I'm looking at the first couple of pages of ChaNES and seeing all these folks posting who also have their names posted up in the very first post claiming to be interested, and I notice that despite there being a plethora of slots open now that they're all being losers and refusing to engage.

That's mildly irritating. Intrigue. Space ships. Nuclear weapons. Lasers. Robots. All in a nice realistic fashion. You should join.