question from a warmonger

I started playing mostly domination games:

1. Because I enjoy that style of play;
2. Because it seems that with a peaceful style of play, once you reach #1 in tech, it is pretty much turn after turn of hitting the next turn button, except for the rare case when an AI gets close to a cultural victory.

As such, the peaceful style of play just seems boring.

Am I missing something?

No, I agree with you.

war is what spices up the later ages. If you are only gunning for tech it is boring until you've got spaceship parts to build as there's nothing to do but world congress every few decades.

The expansion/infrastructure phase is my favorite, but when I run out of that and get bored I start welcoming war. I've found I don't need a domination game though, having a group of mortal enemies that periodically try to take me down or tag-teaming another civ for extra territory to incorporate is a fun way to liven things up. It may slow down your science a bit if you do it too late, but by that time you'll probably win anyway and it's a nice diversion. I had a tech game where I became so bored and was so outstripping the AI that I started a world war and switched to domination to relieve the tedium. It was fun. :)

That's my point. How often do you lose the tech lead once you have it? If you are just starting a war to keep you busy until the inevitable happens 500 years later, something is broken. At least if you are going domination, you have real choices, and you might get DOWed by multiple AIs, which is fun.

I would prefer if there was a way where the lead just wasn't determined so early, so that nothing was so set in stone so early.

That's my point. How often do you lose the tech lead once you have it? If you are just starting a war to keep you busy until the inevitable happens 500 years later, something is broken. At least if you are going domination, you have real choices, and you might get DOWed by multiple AIs, which is fun.