Naval warfare on Deity

RaidandTrade

Prince
I'm new to deity and have never been big on naval warfare so am trying to get some benchmarks.

What's your ideal fleet size and composition?

My recent game was a rage quit where I had six range promoted Ships of the Line attacking Ethiopia and a Privateer or two ready to swoop. Every time the city got to half three privateers rushed out so my fleet was slowly reduced in health and privateers.

In my current game, I've got six Galleas and a couple of Tiremes off the coast of Attila's Court earning promotions on his troops and fleet but am wondering whether I'm going to hit the same problem.

Any tips to avoid going down in history as the world's worst admiral?!?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm new to deity and have never been big on naval warfare so am trying to get some benchmarks.

What's your ideal fleet size and composition?

My recent game was a rage quit where I had six range promoted Ships of the Line attacking Ethiopia and a Privateer or two ready to swoop. Every time the city got to half three privateers rushed out so my fleet was slowly reduced in health and privateers.

In my current game, I've got six Galleas and a couple of Tiremes off the coast of Attila's Court earning promotions on his troops and fleet but am wondering whether I'm going to hit the same problem.

Any tips to avoid going down in history as the world's worst admiral?!?

Three privateers from one city in same turn? What are you talking about..Kill privateers first and try to capture them with your own privateers. Six ship of lines should be enough capturing cities. Can you shoot city with all our ships? Try capturing secondary city first if current city is giving you problem.