Civilization III Advanced Tips

Kurgan117

Chieftain
Hello everyone. I just joined civfanatics recently and just got around to posting. I have been playing Civilization 3 since 2012. After I read these posts, I realized that most people play on regent through demigod!:eek: :faint: I'm still stuck on chieftain-warlord. Does anyone have any tips for me? I am reading the "Post Short Single Player Tips", and most of it I already know. I play on Civilization Complete.

Don't think you havent learned enough to move up the difficulty or its too hard on the next difficulty. Sometimes it does takes years to be comfortable to move up. I was on Chieftain-Warlord for many years, and I decided to just move up suddenly, and I found Regent wasnt that hard. That doesnt mean you need to know everything about civ3 in order to move up. I learned much just moving up a difficulty, and also by playing MP with veteran MP players. I soon found I knew so little about certain mechanics when playing MP and also, I had to improve my speed of expansion and other gameplay movements.

Kurgan 117

I advise you to read and engage here as much as you can. There are some great experts here who are willing to impart their knowledge. Maybe use this thread for some specific questions that are bothering you. But read and engage and you will learn.

Hi Kurgan & welcome!

The primary stumbling block to getting past Warlord is your Government type. Once you've figured out how to maximise getting to a better government type then you're good to go for Regent to Emperor levels. Everything else is secondary minor micromanagement bits and pieces.

For learning this, start with a Civ that has Alphabet as its first tech, such as Greece, then just learn the following Technologies:

Writing -> Code of Laws -> Philosophy