How to disband a settlement?

PeeDub

Warlord
(BTW, I *hates* the Google search feature on these forums. Can't target to a specific forum (or I know not how.))

How does one disband a settlement? I did the old trick of finding some treasure, building a settlement, shipping the treasure, but now I'm stuck trying to disband. I can't seem to move the scout back out of the colony, and there don't seem to be any special buttons anywhere. I also checked the Civilopedia and the manual, but I can't find reference.

I too was trying to do this for about 10mins but don't see any way to do it.

To search a specific forum use the forum's search function rather than the google one. Just look a little lower along the bar where the links to Home, My Account, Downloads, etc are.

As for your question, I don't think you can but I'm a Colonization noob so I could very well be wrong about that.

Oh jeeze, if we were allowed to do that in Civ 4........

Oh jeeze, if we were allowed to do that in Civ 4........

Well sometimes we can leave it to enemies/barbs as you've demonstrated. ;)

In the original col you could disband a settlement by moving all the colonists out of it unless you had a stockade in the settlement, which is why I never got Sieur de la Salle (Hernan Cortes in Col2).

So who's in the know, does it work the same in col2?

I got caught the same way - built a temporary colony to sell treasure then couldn't abandon it. The simple answer is that not all the Col 1 tricks will work here. If you build a colony you are stuck with it for the rest of the game (unless it is captured). It's just a case of adjusting your playing style to suit the new game rules.

Yes you can Maddog. You go to settlement screen. Drag a worker to the garrison icon. It asks if you want you worker to be an colonist/preacher warrior outside of city. Exit settlement screen and Voila. (It does mention this in manual).