AI still in the habit of making severe strategic blunders

Horizons

Needing fed again!
So I am a long-time but not expert player. I play at Prince because Monarch is way too difficult. My observation is that at Prince the AI builds/techs/cultures etc perfectly in other words its building game is spot on, but its warring is embarrassingly awful and thus the reason to play at higher difficulties is to give it more units to play with to compensate. But unfortunately the higher difficulties also give the AI production/happiness etc bonuses which it doesn't really need, thus making the game near-impossible to those who haven't got a PhD in Civ Studies.

The most pitiful example is this: when invading an AI, it will sometimes siphon off units in significant numbers to go and fruitlessly attack city states allied to the invader. It seems totally unaware that an invading force might be 'life threatening' rather than an incursion or an army with limited objectives. The sad thing is that if it consolidated all its available units instead of dividing them up and sending them off in groups to attack various different points, it might be able to save its own life. This is THE most obvious limitation of the AI and it makes me sad to think the only way to compensate for this is to give the AI enormous bonuses to every aspect of its game, not just military.