Automation: how and how much?

tour86rocker

Warlord
Howdy:

I was curious about the habits of some of the more experienced players of C4Col. Do you do much automation? For example, do you simply join colonists to colonies and let the computer decide their profession, etc? Do you build wagons and just set them to full automatic?

If you ever do any of these things, do you only do them for conquered colonies and colonies founded after turn 100, for instance? Just curious what people's takes are on the automation options, which I don't tend to avail myself of.

I'm no CivCol expert, but so far the AI is nowhere near intelligent enough to do any automation for you.
Plus it will just randomly start producing bells and alarm the king.

Micromanage ftw tbh.

First: Me = No "expert".
That said:

1. No
2. Yes... but seldom full auto (not on all wagons anyway), rather specifiy a trade-route. (...so that industry doesnt starve in the interim.) Full-auto go on "extras".

2b. Never Full-auto on ships, always specify routes, since they always count europe as a port, and hence become slow/ineffective traders on full-auto.

No expert as well, and no I do micromanage the crap out of each turn.

The wagons which do tools, guns and lumber I load/unload and move myself. Every 10 turns I do a city round to see if everything is still rosey and to catch cities which have run out of recources.

Having said that, I'd love to have some sort of indication that the carpenter has ran out of wood for instance.

I was trying to automate the wagon trains, but they start doing a really crappy job of it when you have a bunch of colonies.

And the computer doesn't seem to pay attention to colonist skill class when assigning them jobs.

Oh... try to start to specify after priorities i.e;

minor city1 - food city (A), with rec. B and C as extras
minor city2 - lumber city, with A (food) and D as extras
minor city3 - Ore and Silver city, with A and B as extras