City advice

stroypa

Chieftain
Hi there, I've been playing ciV for a while now and whilst I'm nowhere near being a real noob I'm not exactly a veteran either. I seem to have 1 problem and that's not knowing a good number of cities to have or by what time.

I always go for NC start first, and then quickly expand to add 2-3 more cities within the next 30 turns or so (I play on standard pace and map size around prince/king). But then I generally just don't get round to adding anymore because I get too focused on improving my GPT and BPT, building wonders, happiness etc. I guess part of it is also because I don't have a clear idea in my head of when to be adding more and how many overall is good to place myself, or how many to get through puppeting. So because I am unsure I just avoid it.

I'm ok at war, but I don't seek out conquest victories very often, I generally go for space victory. So any tips for things like how many cities I should build and by what time, how many to conquer, and what is a good overall number to have. Also what's a good average size pop for my gold cities which I just use for trading post spam.

Thanks for any help or tips guys. Anything will be appreciated.

I have the same preference. Get a few core cities early and then can't be bothered to invest in new ones (unless I find a really nice spot which is rare by then). Just seems wastefull to invest in it, possibly piss off AI and diminish my culture output.

I try different strategies though. OCC, massive conquest or REX. Still, those all feel unnatural to me.

I think they key is to do what feels best for you. Just try to find what you feel good with.