Civil Disorder?! Starvation?! I was doing so well....help please!

Cleosith

Chieftain
Im very new to this game. I got a lot of help from some board members the other day with another question I had, so I hought I would ask about a different problem.

The babylonians went to war with the arabs. Im squeezed between the babylonians, arabs and persians. The babylonians seem to be the weaker of the group and a lot of my cities are very close to the babylonian cities. So I made a military alliance with the arabs and started going balistic on the babylonians. I took Baghdad in 3 turns. I'm producing seti cavalry (I think that's what they are called....they have an attack of 8) in 4 turns, my economy was rocking....every tile was mined or irrigated and I was about 1-2 techs ahead of almost everyone. I should mention Im playing on warlord as the Ottomoans and my government is democracy. Im in the process of finishing the medicine tech so I can get hospitals. This is the furthest Ive ever come in the game since I bought it 2 weeks ago.

Anyways, next thing I know all my cities are in complete dissaray. One turn Im kicking butt and the next my cities are starving and theres constant civil disorder. So I put my populations moods under the governor's control and he starts making everyone an entertainer. Why is this happening?? Is there a way for me to know how to control my cities moods on my own while also maximizing production? Now my units are taking 13 turns to produce and Im losing the war badly. I even gave Persia a ton of stuff to become my ally against Babylon. But if things keep going this way Persia and Arabia will plunder babylon and Ill have nothing to show for it.

Any advice would be great please.

Thanks

Cleo