How do I ICS or Sprawl?

Fluffyburrito

Chieftain
I'm new to the game and have been doing ok with Tradition Civs so far, but I'm struggling with a Liberty start.

If I use Liberty everything seems like it moves in slow motion.

I'll either expand too fast trying to nab as many luxuries as possible yet still struggle with happiness or tell my civs to stop growing and watch as my workers have nothing to work on and I fall behind in research. I don't get it.

The only Civ I've played thus far with Liberty is Rome, and I only won that because I killed off the other 3 civs near me and gained too huge of an advantage to lose with.

It is hard to go super wide if you don't have a religion with happiness boosting beliefs. This is what makes pagodas so good.

Also, city-states with unique luxuries should become a priority to keep as allies. Maritime CS are stronger for a super wide strategy because each city gets a small amount of food, allowing your undeveloped cities to work more hammer tiles.

The general consensus is that ICS is a dead strategy in BnW.

You *would* do it by expanding constantly so long as you have some happiness to spare. Always settle on a new lux. One of the downsides in BnW is a science penalty per city, and some religious beliefs / social policies that have been slightly nerfed.

You can still have a very large empire and be successful. But somewhere along the line its best to stop planting new cities. They start small and generally dont pay for themselves fast enough in the later part of the game, which is why I usually switch to conquering large cities instead, right around the industrial era.

You should also carefuly consider your/world religion(s) as that tends to pay some dividends in a wide game, but spending faith on prophets is a tough pill to swallow for me, I like engineers / scientists.