Is the choice to war ...

dorkynorky

Warlord
or not, more personality dependent or map dependent? Or alternately, what triggers do you use to decide when to go to war?

When I started playing Civ 4 at Prince level, I loved to rush. I could war in every age if I chose to and win handily. As I made my way to Emperor level I figured out that rexing had its advantages (compared to rushing) depending on the map and that you couldn't always steamroll through the game. At that point I read Snaaty's guide and got into the rut where I might or might not rush and then not do much offensively until cannons/rifles. Based on some threads a few months back I played a few games where I got early HA's and had some fun with them, but their use didn't really get incorporated into a strategy of how to assess the map and opponents to determine whether they would be useful. Now that I am playing (and winning) at Immortal, I actually find that I'm doing more warring with cats/swords and maces/trebs. It could be that is because I don't get as much land to start with or because I've had a higher number of games where I've gotten GK or Shaka as a neighbor.

I'm wanting to refine my overall strategy and am interested in what factors make people choose to war at one point over another. In specific, I guess that these could include map issues (territory/resources), opponents issues (friendly or not) and commerce opportunities (opening up opportunities to actually reach early military techs in time to take advantage of them).

Well, the game is designed around the aspect of war. While non-war aspects of the game have grown, I would say that war is still a primary design feature. With that in mind, I plan to go to war in every game even though I am not a war monger type player.

For me, the #1 reason for going to war is boredom. Improving tiles and building structures is only fun for so long. War adds another dynamic to the game to break up the building periods.