Learning AI

timmey_o_tool

Chieftain
Hi,

I don't know anything about game programming, but I have some knowledge in AI algorithms.
So my question is, why do the developers not use any "learning algorithm" for the AI (or do they during the testing ?) ? With the huge "open beta testing" we have now, the algorithms should converge quite rapidly. And as the AI is structured in different "levels" you can train them separately to avoid to much complexity...
Correct me if I am completely wrong please :) and help me understand.

There have been a couple of attempts to implement "learning AI" in Games in the last decade but non of them have been really successful to my knowledge.

There are reasons for this. When a game is produced, it is typically finished only last weeks/days before release. And then there are even games that are released unfinished and that need major patches I have heard. So in the worst case your AI would need to always relearn the game. I am sorry that I cannot give more specific answer.

What kind of learning algorithm would you use for a game like CIV 5?

There have been a couple of attempts to implement "learning AI" in Games in the last decade but non of them have been really successful to my knowledge.

There are reasons for this. When a game is produced, it is typically finished only last weeks/days before release. And then there are even games that are released unfinished and that need major patches I have heard. So in the worst case your AI would need to always relearn the game. I am sorry that I cannot give more specific answer.

What kind of learning algorithm would you use for a game like CIV 5?

The one they used for Galactic Civilizations 2, probably the hardest AI that has ever been made for a TBS game, I believe it "learns" as well.

To Spehi :