New Computer Specs

Xichael

Warlord
Hello,

I am about to purchase a new desktop (currently using my laptop to play, it can only handle tiny/duel maps with few civs/city states to run somewhat decent late game).

The specs i'm looking at getting right now are:
Intel Core i7-2600 (8MB Cache) Overclocked Turbo Boost to 3.9GHz
8GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1866MHz
Dual 1.5GB NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 - SLI Enabled

Not sure if anything else is important...

But I assume that will run CiV pretty good. I'm not very good with computers so I look to you guys for help because CiV is one of the games I want it to run really good on with some decent sized maps and large amounts of civs.

I have the option of saving some cash if I drop the 8GB of 1866MHz DDR3 Dual down to 12GB of 1333MHz DDR3 Dual. I don't know how much RAM CiV uses at peak (late game). I have heard the difference in quality from 1866 and 1333 is negligible but CiV seems like it is very RAM intensive so I may as well go for the good stuff if it's needed.

Thanks in advance!

No, Civ5 will not use more than 3GB of RAM (if that), and different RAM speeds make almost no difference for non-professional applications.

Get 8 GB DDR3-1333.

A i5-2500 will be almost as fast in Civ5, for ~$100 less

And a GTS 450 in SLI is pointless at best, get a single 460 or 560 instead.

This whole offer looks like something from a dubious shop for me.

No, Civ5 will not use more than 3GB of RAM (if that), and different RAM speeds make almost no difference for non-professional applications.

Get 8 GB DDR3-1333.

A i5-2500 will be almost as fast in Civ5, for ~$100 less

And a GTS 450 in SLI is pointless at best, get a single 460 or 560 instead.

This whole offer looks like something from a dubious shop for me.

Um, great advice except for the video card. Change out the 450 and go with a Gtx 570 or even Sli. If you are running 1080p you are going to be in trouble with a 450.

some rough price/performance comparison for the nVidia cards: