Nukes ? When are they used?

maverick13

Chieftain
I read a couple of posts and saw people talking about nukes very frequently in CIV V. But I have never had any use of it (Even when only possible victory is domination)

I play usually King (sometimes Emperor) Standard or sometimes (quick).

So are all talking about mutiplayer or is there something I am missing??

P.S: I am new to Civilization

Depending on the situation, the AI might use Nukes. It can depend on a lot of things. If you have the AI cornered and he`s that type of Leader he might hit you with a nuke, which I`ve had and then it`s pretty much nuclear war after that.

The AI does seem to try and not use Nukes which is realistic I think.

I`ve never seen the AI use nukes in a `first strike and win` kind of way. They never save all their nukes then just fire 20 nukes off on all targets to try and knock a Civ out in one go.

As a player: only when fooling around.

AI of course may use it on higher difficulties because they won't cry after a 30 pop city and all land wasted, a size 2 town surrounded with all ice or nuclear farmland is just as good to them.

AI seems to use nukes when they're desperate. I have gotten nuked twice and both times I had captured the enemy capital on the previous turn.

Both times AI nuked their former capital and my troops around it.

They should add diplomatic nuke dialogue...threats and such.

I very rarely play for domination victories, which may have something to do with it, but I've never used a nuke and it has been ages since the AI nuked me. I don't remember if it was during Vanilla or G&K when I was last nuked, nor can I remember what victory I was going for. It's been a long time; before BNW.

I can think of 2 situations in which nukes might be useful:
1) If you are being invaded/attacked by a much stronger opponent and they have a mass of units in one area, wiping them out in one go might be worth cleaning up the mess afterwards.