Old Col player intersted

candle

Prince
Ok ive heard good and bad about this game. To give some background I played the original to death both windows and dos version. I still play it on dosbox. I also was on the team that attempted to make CoL II on the CivII Engine, the project fell apart as far as I know as I stopped getting updates and needs, I was an artist making new units.

How does this game stack up to the old one, if it new enough to feel diffrent but also the same. Also how is the interface to someone that has never even played Civ4, I stopped with Civ3 because the game just annoyed me to the max, and still play CivII to death.

I heard trade is easier but can i still choose to micomanage if I want, and is it still a massive headache to build colonies inland, like the original. I still only build coastal cities in the old one to save that headache.

How is the AI, do they still attack for no reason, demand tribute and just fortify on your resources without declaring war? Do they still go from allies to enimes without any reason that can be determined?

Ive heard the Custom house is gone, how does this affect trade once revolution is declared, am I pretty much stuck broke unable to hire merc's once I run out of my gold

Also can you still hire mercs from other nations during endgame?

and finally, how will my computer handle said game

Athlon64 3500
1gb DDR400
Geforce 6800 256mb PCIe
WindowsXP Pro SP3

I also played the original game extensively, from the time it came out until Col2 arrived, but I now enjoy the new game more.

The game is much easier to play for someone who has played the original than it is for someone just coming from Civ4. It is a very different game from the Civilization series but for old Col players the same tactics that worked before still work here.