One City Challenge

Desertsnow

πr²
This has probably been discussed a bezillion times here before, but I'm considering undertaking my first attempt at OCC. I'm thinking Aztecs (instead of my usually favored Egyptians), figuring Militaristic+Religious would help with city improvements, plus the military advantage of the former for when someone picks a fight with my tiny civilization. Probably at low level (Warlord, maybe Regent), as I'm still a novice. Roaming barbarians to meet a few without their becoming a nuisance. Advice? Opinions? Criticism? Think I'm just damn crazy for trying? Any comments would be appreciated.
--DS

Aztecs aren't really that good because militaristic is a horrible OCC trait. You just get some lower priced horbors and stuff. Scientific is much better. The free tech each age is more important than you think. Also, it's not that hard on Monarch, if you get a decent start.

Colossus is very important, as is th Great Libray, especially if you're trying for a culture victory. Any barbarians in OCC will be a nuisance.

I recommend the Russians or Babylonians.

Russians?

I think you don't have to be Expansive in an OCC. You build a spearman and you don't care for barbarians.
Babylonians are great because of cheap temples and libraries.