Religion makes easy diplomacy a drag.

Undertaker798

I studied on killin' you!
Has anyone noticed but unless you have the same religion as a civ, its almost impossible to make friends!

I'm not complaining too much but i get too many civs demanding i change my religion to suit their needs.

elderotter said:
changing religions doesnt always help make them friendly. Free religion does make that go away tho.

Ill try that, if it doesn't work, them Greeks will have to live with it!

Undertaker798 said:
Has anyone noticed but unless you have the same religion as a civ, its almost impossible to make friends!

I'm not complaining too much but i get too many civs demanding i change my religion to suit their needs.

Isn't it though? even in real life? (Israel - Palestine Hint hint) That's what i like about this game so much more than the civs that came before it.

If you are a good friend to them you will be able to be friends with a civ which is a different religion. They just wont trust you much at first (As in real life) and you will have to give them a lot of gifts, trade ect to prove you are good to them.

If you are nearby and your borders are pushing into their territory ect it usually means a fight. Again like real life, they are a different religion so dislike your culture.

Its not a bad civ simulator!!

This is why it's important not just to found a religion, but make an active attempt to sway people to your religion. You don't want to be the 'odd man out'. You have to use missionaries. You can't just 'found and forget'.

This is also a balancing factor for those who avoid founding their own religion and pursue other techs. I go through many games waiting for the AI to tell me what religion to go to -- and I go with whatever tends to have the most presence, and the most powerful followers.