The AIs current warfare ability

Janig

Prince
Hi guys

With the current steam sale, and a number of questions being asked about the AIs warfare ability, Im making this topic to demonstrate the current aptitude of the AI. I bought g&k yesterday so this is the most up to date verson of the game.

I pick a small random map, normal settings, Celts, and Emperor because I havent played for a long time. The start of the game goes ok, Im still learning the new features so I make a few silly moves. Ive read comments about the AI being much stronger early game, and more aggressive, so Im weary.

All looks quiet on the western front

but Ive read the forums, so I send the scout to check it out
whoa. next turn...
cyrus declares war on me immediately

120 years later cyrus has found my border city

...and cyrus retreats

Well, that was my first experience of war in my first game of g&k. So much for the Nov 14th patch. At least I got the game cheap, and now you know that the AI is still crap. If I could travel back in time I would not buy this game.

Attachments

• westfront.jpg
    westfront.jpg
    398.3 KB · Views: 698
  • scout.jpg
    scout.jpg
    431.5 KB · Views: 704
  • war.jpg
    war.jpg
    439.4 KB · Views: 714
  • uh oh.jpg
    uh oh.jpg
    484.3 KB · Views: 687
  • result.jpg
    result.jpg
    467.5 KB · Views: 687
So what I think you're saying is that you'd prefer the AI to suicide its forces? I'm not entirely sure what about the example you've given is an exemplification of poor AI, unless you think any sort of retreat ever by the AI is bad. Without a retreat, the forces around Dublin would be annihilated by your pikemen and bowmen. Cyrus has achieved an early war that has to some extent stunted your development (e.g. pillaged tiles and you switched production to walls), so why should he not play it out defensively?