The Frozen City

Fortunus

Chieftain
Greetings!
New to the civ fanatics forum, I decided to share a story with you as my first post.
The story is one of survival, rather than conquest; a tale of hardships in a life where the only luxury resource available is food. The technical details that surround our tale are as follows:
  1. The map type is "Tilted Axis", leaving the entire northern half as nothing but ice and snow. Ruins are disabled, and Raging Barbarians are enabled.
  2. An in-game editor was used to move my spawn point to the farthest northern reaches, far from the plains and tundra of the south, and remote from other civilizations.
  3. The game difficulty is King, because A. I am not a Civ expert. and B. The focus of this story is on quality narrative, not gameplay. The game speed is Epic.
  4. The civilization used is a Modified Russia
  5. Only flavor mods are used (with the exception of one that replaces the starting warrior with a scout), and the Gods and Kings expansion is enabled.
  6. Narrative text is in blue (this is the good stuff: READ), any other comments I make will be plain black text.

That's enough Introduction for now, let's get started, shall we?

[font=tahoma,geneva,sans-serif]Part One: Founding of The Frozen City[/font]
Tired of warring, barbarian tribes establish a foothold in the frozen Northern Realm