The greatest Civ mod ever?

Geraint94

Chieftain
I absolutely love History Rewritten (version 1.24). I've been playing Civ games since 1994, and this mod is by far my favourite Civ game. I have been playing both single-player and multi-player games on this mod for years now, and I've been wanting to say thank you to Xyth for his brilliant innovations and corrections to the game mechanics for a while.

One of my favourite features in History Rewritten is the dissent and civil war mechanic. I'm not sure if this is even possible, but does anyone know if, for example, I could import the Minor Civs feature from RevDCM mod into History Rewritten, or would this require a lot of rewriting of code? I really like barb civs being able to settle and become minor civs, which in turn can become full civs. In Rise of Mankind - A New Dawn 2 it creates amazing, dynamic worlds, but I find this mod is unplayable for a number of reasons. History Rewritten is by far superior.

My dream would be to have a mod in which a map with a small number of starting civs, would be gradually and organically populated - first by barb cities in fertile areas, then by minor civs when the biggest barb cities reach a certain size etc. I've tried tweaking the numbers in civilwar.py to achieve this, but I have no coding knowledge or modding experience so it's tricky, and it doesn't quite achieve the effect I want.

Really what I love to see is a 'Rhye's and Fall'-style effect in HR with dramatic civil wars, breakaway regions, and newly formed revolutionary states that could eventually become the most powerful civ in the world. Mirroring real life events such as, the USA emerging from a small colony, or France and Spain emerging from the ruins of the Roman Empire.

Would be really grateful for any advice people might have!

Also, if anyone's interested in playing History Rewritten multiplayer, we're in the lobby most weekends on Zulan's server.