The Portuguese Trade Empire

Zwischenzug

Chieftain
tl;dr - Arguably the best tech broker in the game that needs to translate an early advantage into a decisive lead by trade alone.

The Portuguese reguralry get hammered in discussions about the "worst Civ" because of their unusual combination of traits (which has even been called "contradictory", at times - a classification I emphatically disagree with, as you will see) and their comapratively weak UU, the Carrack. They are Expansionist and Seafaring, the Carrack is a 2.2.4(5), 3 transport, Caravel replacement that can cross Ocean squares.

Let's get the Carrack out of the way first: crossing ocean squares and the 2 attack is nice, and would even be extremely powerful, if it would come earlier in the tech tree. As it is, crossing Ocean squares is only one tech away and 2-attack vessels fighting 2-defence vessels (Caravel) is not much fun without bombardment (which the Carrack does not have). On a large map with lots of water but very few Civs, Carracks make an extremely powerful colonisation vessel, but if you don't rig the game in favour of The Portuguese that way, their window of usefulness is extremely short. Usually, everything will be settled and you will know all other Civs by Curragh and Galley suicide missions by the time the Carrack arrives. That leaves the fun of early Galley killing and potentially shorter routes for invasions by sea. Usually, both won't be high on your list of priorities when playing The Portuguese.