Warlords to Vanilla retro mod

Rathelon

Prince
Ok, I'm just beginning to work on a mod to incorporate the basic changes from Warlords into Vanilla Civ4.

Why? Couple reasons: I dont like the fractal map generation in Warlords. It seems there are many more desert and flood plains tiles than the fractal maps in Vanilla. Also, I hate the mid to late game slowdown in Warlords. I always played huge maps in Vanilla with 10 or more civs and never had noticeable issues with slowdown, and I cannot do that anymore with Warlords.

But before I get too deeply involved in my project, just wanted to ask if anyone else has done, or is doing, a similiar project. I wouldnt want to waste time doing it if it's already been done, but if anyone else is working on a similiar thing we could perhaps help each other out.

Why not just run vanilla?

I wanted to add the changes from Warlords (new civs, new leaders, unique buildings, great generals, etc) to Vanilla. But I decided not to bother with it for now.

why not? please do

btw, there is another mod that incorporates only the XML changes i think. its called vanilla 2.08 patch mod or something.

well, you can do this mod for your private use i guess, but you are not alowed to release it. it would be a copyright-infringement (piracy), because people (who owns just vanilla) could play warlords without to have to buy it.

No, I want to mod Vanilla with the Warlords changes.

And, no, I was not planning to release this mod - it was going to be for my personal use only since I own both versions of the game.

I am working on some of it. I think I can fairly easily do most of the modifications, except the great generals and vassal states. I really couldnt care less about vassal states, but I do like the great generals (and they are integral to the Imperialistic trait).

hm, why exactly will you mod the warlords expansion into your vanilla, when you just have to put in your warlords cd and play it?