Removal of "hardcoded" DLL and Python logic [IMPLEMENTED]

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
WTP still has a few places that have "hardcoding" or "abuse of unrelated XML tags" in its logic.
Thus let us collect them all and try to remove them step by step ...

-----

Why bother to remove these things?
Isn't it working currently?

Well, yes it is working currently and code improvements as such do not add new features.
But it will make the mod much more stable and easier to maintain in the long run.

If a mod-modder not knowing that code should ever change XML it can easily break the intended DLL logic.
It is of course also pretty bad sytle of coding ...

But well there were times when I was a beginner as well. :dunno:
My main focus was simply to get all that stuff working with little effort - not if it was "good style".

-----

This here e.g. is an example that has both. :mischief:

It is one of the oldest pieces of logic I had ever written.
(It was even before RaR - it was still in RWL ("Ray's Wish List") which later became RaR to a huge degree.)

Hardcoding example: getSpecialBuildingType() == 26
Abuse of unrelated XML tags example: GC.getBuildingInfo(eBuilding).getAICitySize() == 4

Here's another suggestion for removal of hard-coding: Add a (Free)Route attribute (or similar) to BuildingInfo:

"CvCity:: ProcessBuilding"
Code:
//RWL Railroads and Trainstations
if (GC.getBuildingInfo(eBuilding).getSpecialBuildingType() == 26) // easiest way to identify Trainstation
{
//WTP fixing small bugs in City Founding an Roads
CvPlot* pPlot = plot();
if (pPlot->getRouteType() < 2)
{
pPlot->setRouteType((RouteTypes)2);
}
}
//RWL END Railroads and Trainstations
// R&R, ray, Plastered Road
if (GC.getBuildingInfo(eBuilding).getAICitySize() == 4) // easiest way to identify Townhall
{
CvPlot* pPlot = plot();
if (pPlot->getRouteType() < 1)
{
pPlot->setRouteType((RouteTypes)1);
}
}
// R&R, ray, Plastered Road -END

-----------

@devolution: