Planet Simulator

What was your expected result?

The only thing that method does is turn deep water tiles into shallow water tiles. It's both for visual purposes, information purposes (knowing you're sailing or ported on a smallish inland sea), and it prevents atolls but promotes fish/luxury tiles.

Aright, thanks. I thought this line was shifting ocean tiles away from inland seas into oceans, effectively reducing both the size and likelihood of having inland seas.

My goal was to increase the probability of having large lakes and inland seas.

Is there a code I can add to randomize if its Pangaea or Continents ?
I have no Lua experience.

Thanks

Last edited:
I made this change in my version, with the idea of adding to the mystery element. However, I found I could usually tell pretty quickly which one i had got.

In routine GetMapScriptInfo add an entry for random to the map preset section:

Code:
                Values =
                {
                    "Continents",
                    "Pangaea",
                    "Random"
                },

Then change SimulateTectonics to look like this:

Code:
function SimulateTectonics(W,H,xWrap,yWrap)
    local Plates = 10+math.ceil(H*0.625)

GeneratePlates(W,H,xWrap,yWrap,Plates)

GenerateFaults()

local shelf = Map.GetCustomOption(6)
    if shelf == 3 then
        shelf = 1 + Map.Rand(2, "Random Shelf - Planet Simulator");
    end

if shelf == 1 then
        print("Generating Continents style map")
        CreateContinentalShelf(W,H)
    else
        print("Generating Pangea style map.")
        CreatePangealShelf(W,H)
    end

GenerateElevations(W,H,xWrap,yWrap)

return PlateMap
end

Thanks psparky.

One more question. For the continents map, is there any way to reduce the number of continents ? I don't like having one civ on a continent alone, very snowbally.

I have played with this code, but no luck.

function GenerateElevationMap(width,height,xWrap,yWrap)