(6-19) Galley Speed Buff/Liburna CS Nerf

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stalker0

Baller Magnus
Proposal: Increase Galley speed from 3 to 4 (Barbarian Galley remains at 3). Reduce Liburna CS from 7 to 6.

Rationale: Currently Galley's do not function properly as a counter to the liburna, they are too slow and do too little damage. As such liburna's are unchecked for a large portion of the early game.

The speed change will actually let Galley's chase down liburna (and actually serve as a reasonable early scout). The liburna CS nerf means that the galley now has the exact same combat power as the old Trireme/Dromon dynamic before the recent change. While this does make the liburna technically weaker against the trireme, the trireme already 1 shots the unit in the vast majority of situations, so nothing really changes here.

Database Changes

Last edited by a moderator:
Does Galley oneshot a Liburna with this change?

I started few games recently so I have some experience in the early game and I think it is ok right now. When I had Liburnas vs Galleasses, then Liburnas were bad enough, and after the nerf they will be even worse. And Galleys are already powerful vs them, so I don't see the point of boosting them even more. Even using Liburnas vs cities is now a bit painful and when you lower the CS they will be just piece of crap.

When I had Liburnas vs Galleasses, then Liburnas were bad enough, and after the nerf they will be even worse.
Just noting that this change will have 0 impact to the things you mentioned. Liburnas vs Galleasses and vs cities will be 100% unchanged because the liburnas RCS is not changing.

The only other change will be against triremes. Now triremes 95% of the time already one shot liburnas, so now they will one shot like 98% of the time (basically no change). Otherwise, the only thing this changes is the galley vs liburna interaction.