[C3C] HOT TAKE: Mathematical proof war civs like Monarchy are BETTER than Republic in many circumstances!

C0rTeZ48

Chieftain
Hello there, long time Civ 3 enjoyer. I've been playing this game since about 2002, and still do at times. I've also known this site for a very long time, but this is my first serious post I've ever made, and it will be a bold one. I'm interested most of all in game balancing, and I've been meddling with the civ editor since about the time it has come out. I love meddling with game mechanics, and perhaps will make a series of posts in the future in which I will recommend some major balancing suggestions to better balance many different aspects of the game: governments, units/combat, city improvs/wonders, tech trees, resources, happiness/commerce/shields/food, tiles, citizens, tech trees, civs, etc.

As for now I will focus on my hot take I've never seen someone mention in any post in the forum: mathematical proof that war govs like Monarchy/Fascism/Communism are better than Republic in many circumstances, and perhaps even Democracy:
Despite the bonus commerce of Republics, Monarchy still comes on top on average mathematically, especially when considering army sizes in the equation. This is mainly the result of the higher unit support cost of 2, compared to 1 of other governments. In addition, bonus commerce has a lot of added negatives, mentioned down below. I've never seen people address these serious issues. I'll use some examples of different city sizes in different time eras to prove total commerce bonus between Republic and Monarchy given the best conditions in favor of Republic:
  • Towns (ancient era/early medieval conditions): given an average pop of 4, this gives a bonus commerce of 5 (5 bonus tiles). Marketplaces may boost this by 50%, resulting in 7.5. Adding in 25% WW penalty, and a 25% corruption average, this comes down to a combined 2.5-3.75, but more likely an average of about 3.25.